KKR Secures Third IPL Championship in Decisive Victory Over SRH

KKR Secures Third IPL Championship

SRH captain Pat Cummins won the toss and chose to bat first. SRH suffered a setback in the first over of the encounter. Pacer Mitchell Starc dismissed Abhishek Sharma for two. In the very next over, Vaibhav Arora removed Travis Head for a duck. This leaves SRH at 6/2 after less than two overs.

SRH never recovered from the initial setback and continued to lose wickets. This makes it difficult to pass the 100-run threshold. However, a little counter-attacking from skipper Pat Cummins down the order allowed the orange side to reach 113 before being all out in 18.3 overs.

KKR Brilliant Bowling Performance

Kolkata Knight Riders bowled brilliantly, with everyone who had the opportunity to take a wicket.

  • Andre Russel was the highlight of the KKR bowlers. He took three wickets for 19 runs.
  • Meanwhile, Mitchell Starc and Harshit Rana both claimed two wickets.
  • Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine, and Vaibhav Arora each grabbed one.

KKR Secures Third IPL Title

In response, KKR lost their first wicket early, with skipper Pat Cummins dismissing Sunil Narine in the second over. However, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Venkatesh Iyer stabilized the KKR innings. This propelled them past the 100-run barrier.

Toward the end of KKR’s innings, they lost the wicket of Gurbaz on 39. However, Captain Shreyas Iyer and Venkatesh Iyer made certain that no stone remained unturned. KKR won their third IPL title.